6 month Update: New Years’ Resolutions

Standard

I typically don’t make resolutions… Much less put them in writing. I did this year and posted it for all to see.

resolutions

I’ve failed miserably at half of No. 1. I’ve tried multiple times to get myself back into running. In 2010, after getting separated, my friend encouraged me to join a run group.  Now it was a great decision as far as giving me something to focus on (I signed up for a half marathon… not sure what I was thinking) and I met some wonderful friends.  I was hoping the running bug would bite me and I would be one of those that just HAD to run. Well, it didn’t. It was work for me. I did complete my race and took a break.  Trying to get back into it has proved futile.  Hurt myself several times; had to wear a lovely boot twice – in the middle of summer.  So, long story short, I’ve discovered I’m more of a gym rat. I get bored with the same ol’ things; I like trying new classes. Hmmmm, maybe it’s some of that ADD. So – running no, working out, yes and stretching. I’ve even taken up a barre class!

No. 2… I have done STELLAR at this one! How? I decided to take a dating hiatus this year. No online crap, no singles group. And I have to say my stress level has been greatly reduced. (I may have to take it back up for content though. My friends loved hearing those stories.) I do not miss it! I suppose if I where to ever meet the “right one” I would, but at the moment, I’m enjoying being free.

Oh No. 3…. I don’t know if I’ll ever be successful at this one. I have two alarms, one across the room. I don’t hit the snooze on that one; instead, I just sleep through it. I don’t sleep well through the night .. But at 6:00 a.m., I’m out.. Naturally.

No. 4. Well, I think I’ve done ok. I think we can all do better on this one. Definitely gets harder to make new friends as we get older. I have found some others of like-mind and situation and we have fun.  Hold on to the good ones you have.

No. 5.  I learned my lesson the hard way on this one New Year’s Eve, hence the resolution.  I have been successful despite hanging with my brother and sister-in-law.

Now there is another one … One that I’ve always had, I’ve just never called it a resolution but more of an ongoing quest: TO TRAVEL.  I am keeping my promise on this. I am preparing for my biggest travel adventure yet. Three weeks ….

 

Leave a Reply

