Lots of Hiking

Standard

Could really use those hiking shoes that are in my closet at home.

It’s been two very busy days in Croatia. What started out as a rainy day yesterday trying to tour some of the Old City of Dubrovnik, ended up being a beautiful.

 

image image image image

We hiked the hills above the city.  Along the way, we made friends with a local donkey on the way up. We saw beautiful views of the city below and look down on the Adriatic Sea and to the mountains of Bosnia and Montenegro. Sites were beautiful.. Worth the one blister I had from my walking shoes that I thought would suffice for the trip … We ate dinner at a wonderful restaurant al fresco with some wonderful white wine and my FRESH sea bass was yummy. Everyone was pretty tired from the hike, but being that Linda and I are still on US Eastern time, we decided to have a nite cap.  In the process, we meet a gentleman from Belgium and made friends with the hotel bartender.  We stayed up til 1:00 am discussing world politics and economy.

image image

Our group leader, Oliver, is quite the mother hen; constantly counting his chicks and making sure we have everything we need. He informed us that Tuesday’s hike would be much tougher on the island of Kolecep. Great.

We took a ferry to Kolecep Island, which was a about a 40 min ride. Since I did not bring afore-mentioned hiking shoes, I tried my “rugged” water-resistant shoes. Started off pretty good. Then we started hiking … Up a lot of rocky hills. This chic was huffing and puffing. But we had the promise of a 2 hour respite at a beach at the end.

The scenery along the way was gorgeous and we snacked on figs from fig trees growing along the way. Can’t get much fresher than that. By the time we got to the beach, I had horrible blisters on the side of both feet and on both heels. I think I even had a blister under a blister. I was so relived to change into a swim suit and dive into that gorgeous water.  It is so clear you can’t even really tell how deep it is. You see straight down. It was amazing.

image image image imageimage

Another amazingly fresh dinner tonight.  There are little restaurants and cafes tucked in every nook and cranny.  Be careful getting to them though, drivers here are a little nutty, especially all of the scooters.

image image

Oh, I forgot to mention, our group consists of 3 New Yorkers, 3 Canadians, 2 Brits, 1 Polish that now lives in England and 1 from Switzerland.  Half of the group (1 couple) came with some one, the others came on their own.  I am very inspired by them.  Many take 2-3 weeks off to travel on their own.  Obviously, other countries offer more vacation time …and there were several teachers. I don’t know how on earth I could take that much time off at one time  ???

Kayaking is on the schedule for tomorrow. Thank goodness I can be off my poor blistered feet. I feel like I’m running again. I will never second guess bringing my hiking shoes again.

3 responses »

  1. Yes, other countries have MUCH more time off than we do! I’m so envious I could spit. I see why you mentioned I should get good hiking boots. This looks like an amazing trip. What tour company is it with?

    Like

Leave a Reply

