Standard

BUSY BUSY BUSY…

Wow… can’t believe it’s already December 29. I’m flattered by those who’ve asked where the heck I’ve been.  Seems my brain has been suffering from some ADD lately.  Every time I sat down to write, I thought of something else I needed to do.  I’m sure I’m not alone in that!

The last month in a half have been quite interesting, a little weird and full of surprises. My Christmas decorating was completed by December 5, I actually finished all of my shopping and wrapping about a week or so before Christmas, mom and I survived another Christmas Eve and most of Christmas day together by ourselves, I think I got a little sun burnt on my balcony, the air conditioner has been on, the Carolina Panthers are 14-1, (no, I’m not going to discuss Sunday’s game)… and I have actually started dating someone!

Been trying to play it cool. I don’t want to jinx it, so I’ve not said too much about it.  How did we meet?  Online… seems to be the way these days.  A friend had been telling me to try Tinder.  TINDER????  What?? That’s for youngsters and hookups.  Ugh.  But boredom got the best of me one Sunday evening and I thought I would see what it was all about.  It’s free… what did I have to lose?.. other than my dignity.  I told myself I would give it 2 weeks.  I did A LOT of LEFT swiping… I was not going to be very compromising.  Chatted with a few.  Some just seem to want a pen pal. No thanks.  Then this guy popped up.  I’ll admit it was a little rocky at first… he has some issues with the ex… but the more we talked, the sillier we got and it was fun.  With how many people can you actually have a conversation  about Sigmond the Sea Monster, HR Puff and Stuff and Land of the Lost???  It was comfort right off the bat.  To top that, he actually lives in the apartment complex next to mine!  And to think we had to get online to meet.  Crazy.

So this year, I actually have a date for New Year’s Eve. Ok, I didn’t quite make it a year without dating (one of last year’s resolutions), but I did go 10 ½ months.  I am in such a different place this year versus last year. This time last year, dating was a like a circus and I kept meeting all of the clowns.  I was so done and I decided I was ok with that.  It turned into a fun and exciting year with new experiences, people and places without the stress of dating.  I think there’s something to be said that the right people can only come into your life if you are right with yourself.  Now, I’m not counting my chic’s yet, but I feel good about things.  I have not said that about dating in a very long time.  Only time will tell.

I hope everyone has a wonderful and safe New Year’s Celebration. I cannot wait to find out what next year has to offer!

 

 

Leave a Reply

